Peggy Howard Fellowship

Each year the Department awards the Peggy Howard Fellowship which may include more than one grant for further study in economics.

The grants are available to Wellesley College undergraduates or alumnae both for post-graduate study and for special projects in economics. Funds vary in amount. This fellowship exists because of a gift to the College by Anne and Gordon Howard, parents of the late Peggy Howard (Wellesley `66). Peggy held the M.Sc. from the London School of Economics and the M.A. from Yale. She was active in founding the Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession, and in the Union for Radical Political Economics. She was working on her Ph.D. dissertation and teaching economics at Hampshire College when she died. To be considered for the Peggy Howard Fellowship, please submit an application.

Peggy Howard Fellowship recipients for 2022-2023:

Rachel Cummings '19
Morgan Mastrianni '21
Miray Omurtak '21
Arielle Concilio Parra '14

Prior Recipients:

Tianyu Chu '22
Kyra Frye '20
Soomi Kim '14
Beryl Larson '19

Gillian Courtney ‘18
Morgan Mastrianni ’21
Irena Preja ’21
Ceren Temizyurek ‘21

Emma Rackstraw '14
Liang Zhang '16
Karen Ni '18

Angela Gu '15
Kelsey Moran '17
Ljubica Ristova '13

Amy Wickett '16

Ljubica Ristovska '13
Michelle Lam '14

Tejaswi Velayudhan ’10.

Emily Ann Cuddy '12
Cailey Djule Stevens '12

2013 - 2014
Nitya Pandalai Nayar  '07
Caitlin Kearns '10
Rebecca Cannon Fraenkel '11

2012 - 2013
Sheng (Leslie) Shen '10
Tejaswi Velayndhan '10
Lin Xu '10
Siobhan O'Keefe '10
Jahanara Ahmad '11