Wilson Lecture Nominations

Wilson Lecture


The Wilson Lecture is the premiere speaking event on campus.  Previous honorees have included Lisa Perez Jackson (Apple Inc.’s Vice President for the Environment), Caroline Myles (founder of the Save the Children Foundation), and Amy Smith (inventor and founder of the MIT d-LAB).  Faculty members are encouraged to nominate people of national and international importance to be invited by the college president to come speak.  The Wilson Lecture is always a banner event on campus.  A call for nominations will go out every spring.



2022   Bryan Stevenson, Executive Director of the Equal Justice Initiative and author of the critically acclaimed New York Times bestseller, Just Mercy
2020   Nikole Hannah-Jones, Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter covering racial injustice for The New York Times Magazine and creator of the 1619 Project
2019   Jane Mayer, Washington correspondent for the New Yorker, best-selling author
2018   Al Gore, 45th Vice President of the United States; Nobel Peace Prize recipient (2007)
2017   William Julius Wilson, Lewis P. and Linda L. Geyser University Professor at Harvard University
2016   Lisa Perez Jackson, Vice President of Environment, Policy and Social Initiatives at Apple, Inc.
2015   Michael Ondaatje, novelist and poet, in conversation with writer Pico Iyer.
2013   Caroline Myles, founder of the Save the Children Foundation  
2012   E. J. Dionne, author and news commentator for the Washington Post and NPR
2011   Amy Smith, inventor and founder of the MIT d-LAB
2010   Anne Patterson, former US Ambassador to Pakistan
2009   Chinua Achebe, poet and writer  
2008   Olivia Judson, evolutionary biologist